Hot Cross Buns

buns

2,5 tsp active dry yeast, 180 ml warm milk, 400 g flour, 50 g + 1 tsp sugar, 2 tsp ground spices (for example, 1/2 tsp cardamom, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp allspice, 1/4 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp nutmeg), 1 tsp salt, 60 g butter, 2 eggs (room temperature), 100 g raisins, 2 tsp grated orange zest (I used lemon zest…)

buns1

So it is Easter and I thought I should  challenge myself with some proper traditional british Easter baking (at least I think it is proper british, as it is everywhere right now, and we don’t have that in Germany, so it must be british). I want to think I ‘ve done pretty well.

But then again, it is not too hard, to make Hot Cross Buns, it’s just really time consuming. You should give yourself at least 4 hours for these cuties, it is totally worth it!

You can find the recipe here.

Follow our blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

