Perfect Bakewell Tart

SONY DSC

For the pastry: 140g plain flour, 85g cold butter, pinch of salt, ice cold water. For the frangipane: 110g butter, 110g caster sugar, 2 eggs, 110g ground almonds, 25g plain flour, 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, zest of half a lemon. 100g raspberry jam.

SONY DSC

I have been promising a cake to one of my colleagues for a long time now and a bakewell tart was what he wanted…  I had no choice but to spend half a day making this masterpiece!

I’m not going to lie, this is probably one of my all time best deserts and the whole thing was gone in one day. The recipe I used is fantastic and the pastry was perfect (if I do say so myself) I don’t know anyone who would turn down a slice of this (apart from Phine who is allergic to almonds!) so give it a go. Its slightly time consuming but well worth the effort.

You can find the recipe here (the perfect series from the Guardian is absolutely brilliant, I always turn to it first for any classics I want to try)

Leave a Reply

